View Live Score / Upcoming / Results Schedule

Sri Lanka vs England - 1st ODI

Series: England tour of Sri Lanka, 2018
Venue: Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla
Date & Time: 10 October 2018

England 92/2 (15 Ovs) RR: 6.13 | No result

FULL SCORECARD

Batsman R B 4s 6s
Jason Roy c (sub)Samarawickrama & b Dananjayac (sub)Samarawickrama & b Dananjaya242740
Jonny Bairstow c Dickwella & b N Pradeepc Dickwella & b N Pradeep252441
Joe Root Not OutNot Out252840
Eoin Morgan Not OutNot Out141111
Ben Stokes dnbdnb0000
Jos Buttler dnbdnb0000
Moeen Ali dnbdnb0000
Chris Woakes dnbdnb0000
Liam Dawson dnbdnb0000
Adil Rashid dnbdnb0000
Olly Stone dnbdnb0000
Extras 4 (b 0, lb 2, w 2, nb 0)
Total 92 (2 Wkts, 15 Ov)
Fall of Wickets
49-1 (Jonny Bairstow,7.6), 51-2 (Jason Roy,8.4),
BowlingO M R WEcon
Lasith Malinga5 0 37 0 7.40
Nuwan Pradeep5 0 23 1 4.60
Akila Dananjaya5 0 30 1 6.00
Upul Tharanga0 0 0 0 0
Niroshan Dickwella0 0 0 0 0
Kusal Perera0 0 0 0 0
Dinesh Chandimal0 0 0 0 0
Dhananjaya de Silva0 0 0 0 0
Dasun Shanaka0 0 0 0 0
Thisara Perera0 0 0 0 0
Lakshan Sandakan0 0 0 0 0

Well, such a shame that we had more updates on weather than cricket. The number of timestamps tell you a story. The last ball was bowled four and half hours back. The covers were brought on few minutes before it started to pelt down heavily. The ground staff did remove the covers once the rain stopped, but few areas were too damp and were deemed unfit by the umpires. So, there are four more ODIs left, with two of them (second and fifth) having reserve days. Let's hope that the weather doesn't play spoilsport in the remaining fixtures. Until next time, it's goodbye from all of us down here.

20:18 Local Time, 14:48 GMT, 20:18 IST: The captains shake hands and the first ODI between Sri Lanka and England has been called off. The groundsmen tried their best, but alas, all their efforts have gone in vain.

20:15 Local Time, 14:45 GMT, 20:15 IST: The umpires are out in the middle. And, they don't seem to be happy with the conditions.

19:38 Local Time, 14:08 GMT, 19:38 IST: We are hearing that the pitch inspection has been postponed to 20.15 local.

There will be an inspection at 20.00 local once the covers are peeled off.

18:40 Local Time, 13:10 GMT, 18:40 IST: Good news, folks! "The ground staff are beginning to remove the covers, and the crowd - who've waited so patiently - roar their approval .. but the word is it'll take about 90 minutes to get the surface into a playable condition," is the latest tweet from Test Match Special

18:05 Local Time, 12:35 GMT, 18:05 IST: The live pictures don't seem to be promising. Chances of any further play look bleak.

17:45 Local Time, 12:15 GMT, 17:45 IST: No optimistic update as yet. "Rain a touch heavier again and a little gloomier. But it is getting dark anyway," tweets John Etheridge.

Australia: 87/0 --> 87/1 --> 87/2 --> 87/3. Mohammad Abbas picking all the three wickets. Switch tabs to follow the Dubai Test.

17:05 Local Time, 11:35 GMT, 17:05 IST: The rain has eased out a bit; still drizzling.

16:45 Local Time, 11:15 GMT, 16:45 IST: It is still raining heavily in Dambulla and we'll start to lose overs now.

16:15 Local Time, 10:45 GMT, 16:15 IST: There you go, it has started to rain now. Perhaps, the news we are getting in is that it's absolutely pelting down.

16:05 Local Time, 10:35 GMT, 16:05 IST: The entire ground has been covered and it has gotten further dark. We might be in for a long delay.

15:44 Local Time, 10:14 GMT, 15:44 IST: The groundsmen bring in the covers as a precautionary measure and the players walk off the fielders. It isn't actually raining at the moment, but the wind has picked up. The entire playing area is being covered. We'll keep you updated.

Drinks! After a quick start, England lost both their openers in quick succession. Dananjaya has kept it tight after conceding 11 off his opening over. However, England's Test captain has tackled spin with rather ease. The dark clouds are threatening to make a statement here. Let's hope that weather doesn't play spoilsport. The match is nicely poised at this stage..

14.6
1
Dananjaya to Root, 1 run, goes straight with the arm and Root nurdles it behind square leg
14.5
0
Dananjaya to Root, no run, another turning leg-break, Root reads it off the pitch and defends off the back foot
14.4
0
Dananjaya to Root, no run, leggie, blocked solidly
14.3
0
Dananjaya to Root, no run, in-turner, punched to short mid-wicket
14.2
1
Dananjaya to Morgan, 1 run, quicker delivery at 91kph, Morgan stays leg-side of the ball and pats it to long-off
14.1
0
Dananjaya to Morgan, no run, Morgan presses forward in defence
13.6
4
Malinga to Root, FOUR, that spoils the over for Malinga. Short ball angled down leg and Root has ample time to pull it behind square leg. Placed it square of the fine leg fielder. Root was in total control of his shot
13.5
0
Malinga to Root, no run, attacks the stumps does Malinga with an in-slanter and Root bunts it to mid-wicket
13.4
0
Malinga to Root, no run, skiddy short of length ball around off, tapped into the off-side towards point
13.4
1
Malinga to Root, wide, pacy bouncer, slightly too short and Root sways away from it. Wided for height by the square leg umpire
13.3
0
Malinga to Root, no run, slower ball, dips and Root taps this low full toss towards cover
13.2
2
Malinga to Root, 2 runs, full on leg, whipped away behind square leg. Akila, who just completed an over, sprints to his right, puts in the dive and saves a couple of runs for his team
13.1
0
Malinga to Root, no run, defends this short of length delivery on the off-side

The groundsmen are readily seated outside the boundary circumference.

12.6
6
Dananjaya to Morgan, SIX, just over the man at deep backward square leg. Morgan would have had his heart in his mouth for a while. Fullish ball on middle and leg, Morgan gets down on a knee and plays his pet shot - the slog sweep. Makes good contact and gets sufficient elevation to clear the only fielder in the deep behind square
12.5
1
Dananjaya to Root, 1 run, milks a single by easing the drive to long-on
12.4
1
Dananjaya to Morgan, 1 run, loopy ball from round the wicket, Morgan plonks his bat in front of his pad. The ball grips away and trims the outside edge before rolling towards point
12.3
1
Dananjaya to Root, 1 run, push-driven to long-on
12.2
0
Dananjaya to Root, no run, full off-break, clipped towards mid-wicket
12.1
4
Dananjaya to Root, FOUR, in-turner from a short of length, Root treks back and punches it firmly off the back foot. In the gap through the cover region. The extra cover fielder gave a chase, but in vain
11.6
4
Malinga to Morgan, FOUR, eleven off over! Another off-line delivery from Malinga, drifting onto the pads and all Morgan had to do was put bat on ball. Glanced away very fine
11.5
1
Malinga to Root, 1 run, bouncer, helped on its way to fine leg

Dark clouds hovering over the ground!

11.4
1
Malinga to Morgan, 1 run, reaches out to this full ball and dinks the drive to sweeper cover
11.3
1
Malinga to Root, 1 run, hint of away curl outside off and Root outside-edges the drive to third man
11.2
4
Malinga to Root, FOUR, poor ball. In-slanter from Malinga, ends up on the pads and Root walks across to tickle it very fine. No chance for long leg to cut it off
11.1
0
Malinga to Root, no run, back of a length delivery on middle and leg, Root blocks from the crease

Lasith Malinga [3.0-0-19-0] is back into the attack

10.6
0
Dananjaya to Morgan, no run, off-break from a short of length, Morgan stands tall on the back foot and pats it back to the bowler
10.5
1
Dananjaya to Root, 1 run, too straight, nurdled around the corner off the back foot
10.4
0
Dananjaya to Root, no run, offie, Root pushes it towards mid-wicket off the front foot
10.3
2
Dananjaya to Root, leg byes, 2 runs, wrong 'un, not sure if Root picked it. He was playing for the leg-break and the ball tolled towards fine leg off his pad

A slip and forward short leg in place for Root.

Manhattan

rate graph

progression

partnership